“Hasta la muerte, todo es vida.” –Don Quixote, Cervantes


(Until the Death, all is Life)

The end of this adventure is in sight.

Today, I decided to walk along path by the river as it winds through town.   There are all of these old, stone water mills along it that are in ruins.  Long story short, I got lost and ended up on the pilgrims’ road to the coast.  Right about then, I met a Hungarian named Frank who had walked several hundred kilometers from France.  Instead of turning around and heading back into the city, I accompanied Frank for a couple of miles.

He told me all about his walk across Spain.  The hardest part of the journey: people snoring in the dormitories.  He talked a lot about that.  It just goes to show, no matter who you are or what you’re doing, the hardest part of life is that you have to share it with other people.

Frank and I had some good conversation throughout this afternoon.  It seemed like after all that time alone on the trails across Spain, he was glad for the company, by the amount he talked and his enthusiasm.  I enjoyed swapping stories from our very different experiences.  It just goes to show, no matter who you are or what you’re doing, the best part of life is that you can share it with other people.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment